Real Estate Chimney Inspection



Real Estate Buyer?

If you are buying a property with a chimney or if you are representing a client who is buying a piece of real estate with a fireplace, this article is for you! You will learn the codes and regulations governing home real estate transactions and the type of real estate chimney inspection required. Lets begin with a brief overview of the fireplace itself.

Overview of Fireplaces Codes…

Every fireplace manufacturer has a different clearance to combustibles for their wood stove or fireplace. This makes the rules different for every factory built fireplace and wood stove installation. However, there are some broad rules that cross all types of fireplaces and wood stoves in a generic kind of way. These are National base-line minimum code clearance to combustible standards that must be met or exceeded by any listed product. Hang on there is more!

Into the Details… UL Listings for Wood, Pellet, and Gas Appliances

National standards do not apply in most circumstances these days because the manufacturer of the stove or fireplace has done its own private testing to surpass national minimum standards.  Private testing is performed by a UL Certified laboratory, and provides the manufacturer of the fireplace or wood stove or gas stove or pellet stove with a UL Listing. This UL Listing is extremely important. You should know if your home heating appliance is UL Listed or not. This listing may be found on a sheet metal plate riveted to the body of the listed appliance. Try looking on the back or base pedastal or near the fireplace opening on the left or right side near the fire screen. If you have this plate, it is probably a listed appliance. Our Certified technicians must abide by the clearances indicated on the plate. We cannot reduce those minimum laboratory tested numbers by using national codes, because the listing process is what got these numbers reduced in the first place.

Fireplace and Chimney Inspections

The Fire Department’s code book for wood stoves and fireplaces has a name, the NFPA 211. This is the National minimum standard. It indicates that there are 3 different levels of inspections that may be done for a fireplace or wood stove. You can go to the code book source website here, NFPA 211. We use this as our controlling document at Midtown Chimney Sweeps. The three levels are not surprisingly labeled Level I, Level II, and Level III, and increase in their invasiveness. Below is a disclaimer for our company and then a brief description of the 3 Levels of Inspections recognized by the NFPA 211.

If you do need chimney repairs on a masonry chimney, click here.

If you need a leaky chimney fixed, click here.

 Hidden Defects- legal disclaimer

Hidden construction defects of many types may exist, and may not be discovered using only a Level I or Level II Inspection. These inspections are not intended as a guarantee of safety or the absence of hazards of use, and no guarantee is implied. There have been times when even a Level III inspection was not thorough enough. Needless to say, caution and common sense must be used when both performing inspections and when burning a solid-fuel burning appliance in a modern real estate holding such as a single family residence.

Level I sweep and inspection

is our base level annual chimney sweep and is the least expensive level. We typically do not inspect fireplaces unless we sweep it first, even if it seems clean at a glance. Level I inspections should be done annually according to our certification body (Certified Chimney Professionals organization) and the Fire Department, and consists of physical brushing of the flue, and a visual inspection of the easily accessible portion of the chimney, and requires no tools, no cameras, and no roof inspection is required.

Level II Sweep and Inspection

is our next most popular service, and is slightly more expensive than the Level I, and for good reason. This is known commonly as the Real Estate Chimney Inspection. First we do everything listed in the Level I sweep and inspection above plus the following: roof inspection, live scan video inspection inside the flue, and accessible portions of the chimney. This Level II sweep and inspection is recommended by the NFPA 211 every time the property changes owners, when the fuel type changes, and after every chimney fire. This is a common sense recommendation based on industry research finding ways to reduce structure fires in America. Basically, this is the “better safe than sorry” approach for new owners or occupants of a residence, either commercial or residential.

Level III Sweep and Inspection

is the most invasive type of fireplace or chimney inspection. It consists of the logical and progressively more detailed inspections of Level I, Level II, and finally Level III. We don’t typically perform this level of sweep and inspection on a regular basis so we don’t have readily available pricing on this. The technician will be explaining all his findings to you on site as you move  down this path.

Real Estate Chimney Inspections Should be done:

  • Upon sale or transfer of a property
  • Upon changing the fuel type of the fireplace or chimney
  • After a chimney fire
  • When a Level I inspection indicates the need for further inspection

This would include inheritance of real estate, or a traditional sale process including contract, escrow, closing, real estate agents and brokers, and loan officers. When a home is transacted it’s chimney should be inspected. Just like the septic system or electrical system is inspected upon sale or transfer of a property, so the chimney should be inspected upon the sale or transfer of a property. And rightly so! Chimneys and fireplaces contain active fire!


Call a Certified Midtown Technician for a same-day Level II Real Estate Chimney Inspection Today!


schedule chimney sweep